Pool of mentors

The following PIs, students or counseling offices can be contacted by BioMed PhD students and BioMed PIs who seek advice in case of problems connected to particular PhD studies. The mentor may give advice to the student and/or PI and help to resolve such problems. All discussions between student and mentor or between PI and mentor are treated confidentially.

Mentors of the BioMed PhD program

Christian Grimm, Prof. Dr.
Department of Ophthalmology, USZ
Email: cgrimm@opht.uzh.ch
Website

Christian Wolfrum, Prof. Dr.
Institute of Food, Nutrition and Health, ETHZ
Email: christian-wolfrum@ethz.ch
Website

Ori Bar-Nur, Prof. Dr.
Laboratory of Regenerative Movement Biology, ETHZ
Email: ori.bar-nur@hest.ethz.ch
Website

Katrien De Bock, Prof. Dr.
Laboratory of Excercise and Health, ETHZ
Email: katrien-debock@ethz.ch
Website

Gabriela Kania, PD Dr.
Department of Rheumatology, USZ
Email: gabriela.kania@uzh.ch
Website

Vartan Kurtcuoglu, Prof. Dr.
Institute of Physiology, UZH
Email: vartan.kurtcuoglu@uzh.ch
Website

Thomas Lutz, Prof. Dr.
Institute of Veterinary Physiology, UZH
Email: tomlutz@vetphys.uzh.ch
Website

Ferdinand von Meyenn, Prof. Dr.
Laboratory of Nutrition and Metabolic Epigenetics, ETHZ
Email: Ferdinand.vonmeyenn@hest.ethz.ch
Website

Bernd Wollscheid, Prof. Dr.
Molecular Health, ETHZ
Email: wbernd@ethz.ch
Website
 
Lavinia Boccia, PhD candidate
Student representative UZH
Email: lavinia.boccia@uzh.ch
Website
 
Markus Holzner, PhD candidate
Student representative ETHZ
Email: markus.holzner@ethz.ch
Website
 
Andrea Schmitz
Coordinator PhD Program in BioMed
Email: andrea.schmitz@uzh.ch
Website

Counseling Offices at the UZH

Counseling at the Faculty of Science (MNF)
Prof. Dr. Monica Zwicky
Email: monica.zwicky@imls.uzh.ch
Website

Central advisory services
Graduate Campus
Coaching, Mentoring and Counseling
Website

Employee Assistance Office (MBS)
Website

Psychological Counseling Services for PhD candidates
Website

Association of doctoral students, postdocs and scientific employees
Website

Confidants of the faculties in case of suspicion of unfairness in science
Website